Blogger · blogging · friendship · Happiness · Inspiration-2 · life story · relationships · Uncategorized

A trillion wonderful things …

It’s amazing how much you can find out about a person by delving under the  surface.  Take me, for example. I am like a swan. Or I try to be!  On the surface I’m gracefully gliding through life, but under the water I am paddling like hell just to stay afloat.

Today’s prompt word, surface is basically everything my blog is about. It’s the perception of me and my life on the surface that I feel like I want to push back against, to question and really just to stop people being so short sighted. But I know that I am guilty of it too. Isn’t it just human to judge on what you can see regardless?

Do we as individuals spend far too much time perfecting this image that we want others to see? Are any of us not acting at all? Are we more concerned about people’s perceptions than anything else? I think I once was. But what is it that actually should matter?

Maybe it is easier to design the kind of life you think you should have, or the kind of life that people expect you to have and just live it. Act it out. Sometimes I imagine it is Oscar worthy. Just the sheer duration of it is enough to drive anyone slightly bonkers, everyone has a crisis point.

I’ve met many people that I have found incredibly surprising and this is because I have made a pre judgement based on what the surface shows but then I have spent the time looking under it and I have found many unexpected things. This is what we should do, we should do this for everyone, not just a chosen few, who knows who we might meet? Connect with and discover?

I feel like the important thing to remember is that  the surface layer is hiding a trillion wonderful things and our job is to seek them out and enjoy them.

6 thoughts on “A trillion wonderful things …

  1. Very true ❤️
    So, for example, when I first met my best friend, I didn’t like her much. The thing is, she barely smiles :p
    When once I got to know her, I realised what a wonderful person she is. I’m glad I took the chance, I’m truly blessed to have her!

    Great post 🙂
    I’m going to show this to her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

